Music Theatre | 2020

Pinocchios Abenteuer

Premiere of the German version: 10.5.2020
Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt
Karin Dietrich, text adaptation
Ensemble of students of the Frankfurt Hochschule

Other performances: 11.05, 12.05
"Pinocchios Abenteuer" is a theatrical piece in which the five solo instruments would incarnate the different characters depicted by Giorgio Collodi, accompanying Pinocchio in his surprising travel from a wood-born-being to a normal little boy.
The virtuoso musicians give an acoustic panorama of the wide animal word Pinocchio is in constant dialog with, through specific instrumental styles and treatments.
The project, inspired by the Italian road theatre and from Stravinsky's "Histoire du soldat", is intended as a light and essential form of chamber opera,  that can be played in various locations, allowing the public to be very close to the characters, with  possible forms of spontaneous interaction stimulated by the musicians.
Pinocchio is a marionette with a direct simple schematic reaction to the many events, like in the Sicilian puppet tradition, but also with a huge range of intentions and inclinations, aspiring to normality. He is a magic marionette, knowing the languages of plants and animals and this ability increases his experience of the real world.

Pinocchio (also The Fairy with Turquoise Hair ): voice
The Cat  (also The Doctor Crow): horn
The Fox (also The Doctor Owl, the Dog Alidor, The Snake): violin
Geppetto (also The Talking Cricket, The Dolphin): cello
Stromboli (also Candlewick, the Green Fisherman): double bass
The Terrible Dogfisch (also Marionettes , The Snail, The Chick): percussion
Last updated on
Comédie instrumentale for soprano en travesti and instrumental soloists
German version (2020)
Text after Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
Translated by Karin Dietrich
Commission: Ensemble Intercontemporain
Production: Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main
First performance: Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt am Main, 10 Mai 2020
Ensemble of students of the Frankfurt Hochschule
Rai Com Music Publishing
Duration: ca. 60 m