Music Theatre | 2015

Les aventures de Pinocchio

Opéra de Rouen, Chapelle Corneille
premiere: 8.2.2017
other performances: 9.2, 10.2, 11.2.2017

Nouvelle Philharmonie, Paris
premiere: 5.3.2017
other performances: 6.3.-7.3.2017

Auditorium Lyon
premiere: 10.5.2017
other performances: 11.5.2017

Festival Musica Strasbourg
Auditorium de Radio 3 Alsace
premiere: 27.9.2017
other performances: 28.9-29.9-2017

Juliette Allen (soprano)
Ensemble Intercortemporain
Direction: Matthieu Roy
"Les aventures de Pinocchio" is a theatrical piece in which the five solo instruments would incarnate the different characters depicted by Giorgio Collodi, accompanying Pinocchio in his surprising travel from a wood-born-being to a normal little boy.
The virtuoso musicians give an acoustic panorama of the wide animal word Pinocchio is in constant dialog with, through specific instrumental styles and treatments.
The project, inspired by the Italian road theatre and from Stravinsky's "Histoire du soldat", is intended as a light and essential form of chamber opera,  that can be played in various locations, allowing the public to be very close to the characters, with  possible forms of spontaneous interaction stimulated by the musicians.
Pinocchio is a marionette with a direct simple schematic reaction to the many events, like in the Sicilian puppet tradition, but also with a huge range of intentions and inclinations, aspiring to normality. He is a magic marionette, knowing the languages of plants and animals and this ability increases his experience of the real world.

Pinocchio (also The Fairy with Turquoise Hair ): voice
The Cat  (also The Doctor Crow): horn
The Fox (also The Doctor Owl, the Dog Alidor, The Snake): violin
Geppetto (also The Talking Cricket, The Dolphin): cello
Stromboli (also Candlewick, the Green Fisherman): double bass
The Terrible Dogfisch (also Marionettes , The Snail, The Chick): percussion
Last updated on
Comédie instrumentale for soprano en travesti and instrumental soloists (2015)
Text after Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
Commission: Ensemble Intercontemporain
Co-production: Ensemble Intercontemporain, Philharmonie de Paris, Opéra de Rouen
First performance: Opéra de Rouen, 8 February 2017
Juliette Allen (soprano)
Ensemble Intercontemporain
Direction: Matthieu Roy
Rai Com Music Publishing
Duration: ca. 60 m