Music Theatre | 2018

Le avventure di Pinocchio

New Production of the Italian version 

Associazione Musicale Appassionata
Artistic director: Andrea Trettaccone

Tolentino, Teatro Politeama
Macerata, Teatro Lauro Rossi
San Benedetto del Tronto, Teatro Concordia
Camerino, Auditorium Liceo Scientifico

Juliette Allen, soprano

Ars Ludi Ensemble
Stefano Berluti, Horn
Filippo Fattorini, Violin
Michele Marco Rossi, Cello
Massimo Ceccarelli, Doublebass
Antonio Caggiano, Percussion

Cecilia D'Amico, set, costumes and direction


Italian version of the "Les avventures de Pinocchio"
"Les aventures de Pinocchio" is a theatrical piece in which the five solo instruments would incarnate the different characters depicted by Giorgio Collodi, accompanying Pinocchio in his surprising travel from a wood-born-being to a normal little boy.
The virtuoso musicians give an acoustic panorama of the wide animal word Pinocchio is in constant dialog with, through specific instrumental styles and treatments.
The project, inspired by the Italian road theatre and from Stravinsky's "Histoire du soldat", is intended as a light and essential form of chamber opera,  that can be played in various locations, allowing the public to be very close to the characters, with  possible forms of spontaneous interaction stimulated by the musicians.
Pinocchio is a marionette with a direct simple schematic reaction to the many events, like in the Sicilian puppet tradition, but also with a huge range of intentions and inclinations, aspiring to normality. He is a magic marionette, knowing the languages of plants and animals and this ability increases his experience of the real world.

Pinocchio (also The Fairy with Turquoise Hair ): voice
The Cat  (also The Doctor Crow): horn
The Fox (also The Doctor Owl, the Dog Alidor, The Snake): violin
Geppetto (also The Talking Cricket, The Dolphin): cello
Stromboli (also Candlewick, the Green Fisherman): double bass
The Terrible Dogfisch (also Marionettes , The Snail, The Chick): percussion
Last updated on
Com├ędie instrumentale for soprano en travesti and instrumental soloists.
Italian version (2018)
Text after Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi
Commission: Ensemble Intercontemporain
Co-production: Romaeuropa festival-Opera di Roma
First performance: Aula Ottagona (ex Planetario), Rome, 22.11.2018
Juliette Allen (soprano)
Ensemble Intercontemporain
Direction: Matthieu Roy
Rai Com Music Publishing
Duration: ca. 60 m

Pictures by Piero Tauro