Chamber music | 2013


Blumenstudien is an "interpretative" transcription of Gesualdo’ s madrigals from the V and VI Books which I composed to meet the wishes of Neue Vocalsolisten. I have just added to the original indications concerning andamento, amplitude, timing and vocal attitude, adapting the counterpoint to the voices of the soloists and to their musical vision of Gesualdo. It was a compositive process of identification with the performers. I tried to emphasize the sculptural effect of Gesualdo's texture, his play of full and void, as if his music was the acoustic mirror of Borromini's architecture,  to reenact the theatrical print, which the Neue Vocalsolisten give to music, and their spatial conception of the ensemble of voices.
The selected fragments from Gesualdo are adapted to a poetical sequence based on the Elegie Die Metamorphose der Pflanzen written by Goethe in 1798. The whirling and dense reportage of the evolution of vegetal life, from the darkness of the earth to the orderly explosion caused by the light and warmth, as conjured by Goethe, is interrupted by some poetical portrait of flowers:  the Rose by Silesius, the Blaue Hortensie by Rainer Maria Rilke or the Traubenhyazinthe by Barthold Hinrich Brockes among others. An intense and casual collection of flowers "ohne Warum", as shown in the painting of Egon Schiele, giving the title.
An acoustic blossom for Christine.
Last updated on
Madrigale a cinque voci
with music by Gesualdo da Venosa (2013)
Voices: S,M,T,Bar,B
Fragments from Barthold Hinrich Brockes,
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Hugo von Hofmannsthal,
Christian Morgenstern, Rainer Maria Rilke, Angelus Silesius, 
Ludwig Uhland, Sigmund von Birken and Johannes Klaj
Texts selected by Marie Luise Knott
Dedicated to Christine Fischer
Commission: Neue Vocalsolisten
First performance: Theaterhaus Stuttgart, 21 June 2013
Publisher: Edizioni musicali Rai Trade
Duration:  ca. 12 m